A prayer to the Great Spirit by a Crow Indian

Screenshot 2016-01-23 at 10.40.14 AM

“I am poor; that is bad
Make me a chief; give me plenty of horses; give
me fine clothing. I ask for good spotted horses.
Give me a large tent; give me a great many horses;
let me steal fine horses; grant it to me.
Give me guns by cheating; give me a beautiful
woman; bring the buffalo close by.
No deep snow; a little snow is good.
Give me Black Feet to kill or to die; close by, all
together.
Stop the people from dying, it is good.
Give instruments for amusement; blankets too, and
fine meat to eat.
Give the people all together plenty of fine buffalo, and
plenty to eat”.
-A prayer to the Great Spirit by a Crow Indian
“The Great Divide”
by the Earl of Dunraven

4 comments

Leave a Reply

